About NBC

History of the Nebraska Balloon Club

nbc-logo-small The Nebraska Balloon Club came into existence in January, 1977.  The BFA (Balloon Federation of America) received notification of an association of balloonists in Nebraska, and Jerry Mahoney of Omaha was listed as the official contact.  Charlie Cook initiated the the NBC Newsletter in January, 1977 and listed eleven pilots in the first roster.  The first organizational meeting of the Nebraska Balloon Club was held March 19, 1977.  Charlie Cook was elected president; Jerry Mahoney, vice-president; and Bill Wemhoff, Secretary/Treasurer.

Thirty-five years later, the NBC membership rolls have swelled to nearly members, including 30 pilots.  Of the eleven pilots listed in that first newsletter, Jerry Mahoney, Charlie Cook, and Rich Jaworski are still on the club roster.  In fact, Rich Jaworski continues flying under the same name and colors: “Euphoria.”
More »»and the early history of ballooning.

NBC Officers for 2017

  • President: Rich Jaworski


  • Vice President: Michael Jones


  • Secretary: Janet McDonald


  • Treasurer: Elane Lacroix



The Balloonist’s Prayer

The Winds have welcomed you with softness;
The Sun has blessed you with its warm hands;
You have flown so high, and so well,
That God has joined you in your laughter,
And set you gently back,
Into the loving arms of Mother Earth.